1. Home
  2.  → 
  3. Workers' Compensation
  4.  → Who can receive federal workers’ compensation benefits?

Who can receive federal workers’ compensation benefits?

On Behalf of | Jul 29, 2021 | Workers' Compensation |

Those who work for a living shouldn’t have to worry about an injury or illness caused by their job leading to poverty and an inability to work. Although people can get sickened or hurt at all kinds of jobs, they can generally expect to receive workers’ compensation insurance benefits. These benefits can include medical coverage, disability pay and even job training in some cases.

Workers’ compensation programs operate on an individual state basis. Every state in the country has its own rules and policies for workers’ compensation. Employees injured in a specific state can file a claim under that state’s workers’ compensation rules.

However, not all employees qualify for standard workers’ compensation benefits. Some people will instead require federal workers’ compensation protections. Who qualifies for the federal workers’ compensation program?

Federal workers’ compensation protects civilians and their families

Perhaps the largest pool of federal workers, military service members, do not typically qualify for federal workers’ compensation. They instead can depend on military care and veterans benefits.

Federal workers’ compensation primarily protects civilian federal employees. Regardless of what state is home to the agency that employed someone as a federal civilian worker, an injured worker will generally need to file a claim with the federal workers’ compensation program that was created by the Federal Employees’ Compensation Act (FECA).

Benefits also extend to the surviving family members of civilian federal employees who die on the job or as the result of a job-acquired medical condition. Knowing what kind of workers’ compensation coverage applies to you will be very important if you develop a medical condition because of the work that you do.